NOTE: the DLRA office will be closed temporarily.

Any enquiries should be directed to Greg Wapling

0434 821 307


Dry Lakes Racers Australia Inc.

PO Box 349
Castlemaine VIC 3450
Ph:03 5472 4629


Office Bearers 2021 - 2021


President Greg Wapling Mobile: 0434 821 307
Vice President Rod Drabsch Mobile: 0400 447 633
Treasurer Carol Hadfield Ph: 03 5472 4629
Secretary Carol Hadfield Ph:03 5472 4629
Media Enquiries Greg Wapling & David Athanasio
Advertising & Sponsorship David Athanasio
DLRA Information Phone Mobile: 0490 488 100

Event Committee

Race Director

Steve Charlton Mobile: 0438 429 664
Event Coordinator Greg Telford
Rob Carrol
Starter Harry De Ree
Timer Bruce Willmott
Peter Hulbert
Technical Chairman Bob Ellis Mobile: +64 212 433 191
Chief Car Inspector Lionel West Mobile: 0448 733 240
Chief Motorcycle Inspector Graeme Hadley Mobile: 0419 532 812
Fire & Rescue Team Russell Branson
Medical Services Dr. Scott Lewis

General Committee

Camp Coordinator

Gary Brennan

Trevor Beck
SA Liason Officer Micheal Brixton
DEW Liaison Kim Krebs
GRAC Liaison Steve Charlton Mobile: 0438 429 664
Rule Book Coordinator Gary Satara Mobile: 0409 196 025
Record Certification Greg Wapling
Entry Number Coordinator Greg Wapling
Merchandise Carol & Rod Hadfield
Webmaster Greg Wapling
Social Media Channels Jean Paul Afflick
General Enquiries Greg Wapling


State Delegates

We now have local delegates in most States for technical and other enquiries.

State Cars Motorcycles
New South Wales Gary Satara
Mobile: 0409 196 025
Dave "Bones" McLachlan
Russell Lowe 0404737639
Queensland Arthur De Main Ross Brown
Victoria Rod Hadfield
Ph: 03 5472 4629
Rob Carroll
Ph: 03 5472 4370
Greg Watters
South Australia Michael Brixton
Simon Black
Martin Powditch
Tasmania Adrian Reid  
Western Australia Gus Cooper 0413 872 513

Jeff Lemon
Northern Territory Vacant Josh Schuit
Shane Gaghan


Category Representatives

Special Construction James Stewart Mobile: 0400 818 080
Vintage Steve Charlton Mobile: 0438 429 664
Classic Steve Charlton Mobile: 0438 429 664
Modified Simon Black Mobile: 0418 833 536
Production Steve Charlton Mobile: 0438 429 664
Diesel Truck Steve Vowerk Mobile: 0410 477 316
Motorcycle Graham Hadley Mobile: 0419 532 812
Ute & Pickup Chris Hanlon


Contest Board

  • The DLRA Executive Committee plus additional personnel appointed by the DLRA President and includes;
    President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Technical Chairman, Chief Car Inspector, Chief Motorcycle Inspector


Rules Committee

  • Rules Committee Co-ordinator (appointed by DLRA Board)
  • A representative of each category of vehicle or his/her designee (Special Construction, Vintage, Classic, Modified, Production, Diesel Truck and Motorcycle)
  • Technical Chairman
  • Chief Car Steward(s)
  • Chief Motorcycle Steward(s)


Technical Committee

  • Technical Chairman
  • Car Steward(s) / Inspector(s)
  • Motorcycle Steward(s) / Inspector(s)
  • Technical Committee Steward(s)


All positions within the Dry Lakes Racers Australia are honorary and voluntary. Many of the office bearers and committee compete as well as officiate at the annual Speed Week, not to mention the untold hours spent organising and answering queries during the year all whilst trying to make a living and keep the family happy. All members of the Dry Lakes Racers Australia are truly indebted to these people for without them, their would be no DLRA and no racing.


HONOUR ROLL of previous office bearers.


Any application for amendments to Speed Trials Results or Records must be made on the Results and Records Amendment Form.


Other Contacts


Senior Ranger, Gawler Ranges National Park
Regional Services
Department for Environment and Water


Mt Ive Station
PMB 16
Port Augusta South Australia 5710
Phone: +61 8 8648 1817 
Fax: +61 8 8648 1811


Learn More ...


Join the DLRA


Support the DLRA